top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYilin Wang

Epic


Description of the game


In this game, guest are played as the god of the wind. This game will take the direction of the face of the guest and the blowing sound input from the mic as control. The goal of this game is to find the treasure island. On the way to the crew’s goal, the ship will need to avoid the rocks on the island and follow the guide of the fallen stars.(Link to the complete game play video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JqISwoHGkRe-pON-H8f3X77KJgsdjxjt/view?usp=sharing)


What I have done in this project


I was a game logic programmer in this project. This project is developed in Unity with a interdisciplinary team. In this project, I implemented features related to the mic input so that whenever the game detects an input from the mic, the ship will speed up. I also implemented the visual and sound feedback of the ship hitting the rock. Besides that, I implemented an algorithm to draw the path that the stars will be distributed in the game scene so that the path that is formed by the stars will be soft and follow the overall style of the game.


Rocks in the scene

Fallen stars that guide the ship

Challenges

(1) When I was implementing the sampling from the mic feature, I ran into the trouble of the mic being overly sensitive. The ship would move whenever there is a noise in the mic. In order to resolve this, I let a mic to sample sound from the mic for the first 50 frames and then set a threshold based on the volume of the first 50-frame sound. The game would only consider the sound beyond the threshold as the sound input.

(2) When I was implementing the star guiding feature, firstly, I let the ship directly steer to the direction to the final destination; however, sometimes the turning angle is so large that the visual effect is not as satisfying. As a result, I designed a path algorithm for the fallen stars. The path generating algorithm will draw the stars on an arc between the starting point and the destination. In this way, the steering of the ship is much smoother.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page