top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYilin Wang

Project: Hot Chicks


Game Description


Hot Chick is a multiplayer online game. In this game, chicks are trying to burn down the farm with the fire on their bodies and the farmer is trying to put out the fire on the chicks with water so that he can save his own farm. (Link to the video for a complete game play: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AJqdfLfQNKRQ5VcNV7ayFEcD2Cx0Qmj5/view?usp=sharing)


Chicks lighting up the barn with the fire on their head

Farmer put out the chick with water to save the barn


What I have done in this project


This project is implemented in Unity and it is completed with a interdisciplinary team. In this project, I am a game logic programmer. I implemented the matchmaking and the waiting room for the network part with Photon package. I also implemented username registration and display in the game. In addition, I also implemented the lighting logic of the game object in the barn.

The matchmaking waiting room

The display of the username of the farmer

Challenges

(1) When working on the matchmaking and the waiting room features in this game, I need to put the cloud region and the delays into consideration. I discovered that the ping of people in different cloud regions is really high. Since this game require instant response, when I was designing matchmaking section of this game, I separate people who are in different cloud region from each other.

(2) Photon put a limitation on the number of messages that are allowed to send over per second. In the beginning, I made the lighting up objects in the game online and so that during the first several play tests, the messages are easily exceeded and some of the builds doesn't move due to this issue. Then I figured out that the locations of the chicks are sent to players per second so I figured out that the lighting up of the object can be executed locally.

(3) In this game, there is a feature that says that when a chick is put out by the farmer, the chick will be wet and when the chick is wet, it cannot be instantly lighted up by other chicks on fire. In addition, when the chick is wet, it can put out the chicks on fire that are around it. I used a finite state machine to implement the logic.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Epic

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page